Situated opposite an iconic 1860s Watson’s Mill in the heart of Manotick, Dickinson House was the mill owners’ home for over 100 years. Constructed in 1867 by Moss Kent Dickinson, the house served first as a mill office but soon became the family home.
Furnished in Victorian style, Dickinson House brings to life the early days of Manotick. Its costumed guides offer tours to visitors
The museum is closed from January to April 2024.
Entry by donation, suggested $2 per person
Costumed heritage interpreters guide visitors through the home’s three floors, pointing out its features and telling the story of the mill-owning families who lived there. Group tours can be booked in advance by telephoning 613-692-2241 during the museum’s open hours, or in the off season by emailing email@example.com.
Guests can also explore the space using a virtual 3D tour, available on the accessible ground floor of the museum, or online when the museum is closed.
The Dickinson House Museum is located in the historic core of the Village of Manotick, in the southern part of Ottawa, Canada’s National Capital. The house sits across from Watson’s Mill, a still-operational 1860s stone grist mill on the banks the Rideau River and Canal, a World Heritage Site. The museum is accessible by car, bicycle, public transit, or boat.
Address: 1127 Mill Street, Manotick, ON. K4M 1A5